Pen box and new pen

After a lot of searching and hemming, hawing, and general indecisiveness, I decided to buy myself a new fountain pen.  Aside from calligraphy pens, I have a bit of a thing for nice fountain pens.  I’ve had my eye on a Pilot (Namiki) Vanishing Point  for a long time and decided to look a little bit more seriously over the past few weeks.  The Vanishing Point is a pen that works like a ballpoint, in that the nib is retractable.  This is about the only pen in its price range that does this, and makes things like taking notes much easier.  The pen is designed upside down, so the clip is at the end you write with so if you clip it to your pocket, ink doesn’t dribble out into your shirt.

After it arrived in the mail, I decided I wanted to make a pen box for some of my nicer pens, as I’ve gathered a fairly good collection of fountain pens over the years.  Instead of building a fresh box, which would require a lot more tools and know-how than I have, I decided to upcycle an old jewelry box to have a nice wooden interior.  The box is a clam shell design and had lots of pink!

I tore out all of the interior bits, cut pieces of wood to fit snugly into the top and bottom, made small strips to glue on as pen separators, polyurethaned it, and put it all together.  It was a pretty simple process, but I like the way it turned out.  There will be a day when I make a more appropriate pen box, but for now it was a fun project and serves my needs.

IMG_8762 IMG_8763 IMG_8764 IMG_8765 IMG_8766 IMG_8767 IMG_8768

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

